Antananarrived!

I’m currently sitting in my new room in Madagascar writing this post. On one hand, I find it hard to believe that I’m actually in Madagascar, but on the other hand, it’s also hard to believe I haven’t even been here 24 hours yet.

Some highlights from my 31? (I lost count) hour journey:

IMG_2715[1]

1. YVR -> YYZ

I was so happy that Savannah, my roommate from AKFC training, came to the airport to see me off.

IMG_2712[1]

IMG_2714[1]

We tried to make faces like the animals in the movie… but we might need to practice over the next 8 months? Savannah is on her way to Kyrgyzstan – check out her blog! Savannah in Kyrgyzstan 

2. YYZ -> CDG

Free upgrade! More legroom than I have legs for!

IMG_2716

3. CDG -> TNR

Another free upgrade and a pain au chocolat. What more could a girl want?

IMG_2717

4. Arrival in Antananarivo!

I stepped off the plane and saw this (because Ivato airport is so small, there’s no tunnel)

IMG_2719

I know the picture is terrible, but its a pretty accurate representation of how my eyes were after all that traveling.

After the million and one nerves and butterflies that attacked me on the journey over, as soon as I stepped off the plane, I was hit by a feeling that I belonged here. It was the familiar feeling of African air and almost instantly, my nerves calmed and I felt at home.

My colleague Mirana picked me up from the airport and took me to my new “appart-hôtel”

tanaroom

This will be my home for the next 8 months!

I spent my first day in Tana with Shayan (former AKFC fellow) and his wonderful family. He gave me a great tour of the city. Check out the incredible view!

IMG_2732

My day ended with a crêpe and a view Tana by night. Not a bad first day!

IMG_2739

IMG_2740

So far, I have a pretty awesome impression of Tana. Every single person that I’ve met has been so kind and so welcoming. They haven’t made me feel out of place even with my bumbling French and awkward perma-smile.

I came into this experience with pretty high expectations. When I went to Kenya at the end of last year, I had such an amazing time that I named this new level of happiness, “Kenya happy.” I came to Madagascar looking for “Kenya happy,” and I have a feeling it won’t be long before I find it.

Please note: all credit (including but not limited to: groans, laughs, eyerolls) for the title of this post goes to Jonny Price

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Antananarrived!

  1. akshant pathak

    Awesome for you, matey. Now everyone’s been to Africa but me

  2. mahasti

    je suis fière de toi ❤

  3. Deric

    wonderful post Alyza.. the cradle of mankind……. welcome home!

  4. So awesome! Your apartment is so nice.

  5. lesley

    so so excited to keep up with your journeys via this blog! keep updating with beautiful pictures and experiences so we can all live vicariously through you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

